Cornell AAP Announces New Faculty, Including Social Justice Cohort

Cornell University College of Architecture, Art, and Planning (AAP) announced that eight new faculty members will enter a handful of inaugural roles beginning in the fall semester. This includes faculty who will comprise a five-member AAP Social Justice Cohort working across disciplines to “advance scholarship, research, creative practice, and critical dialogue on social justice, equity, and identity.” “. Also joining the college’s first-ever Associate Dean for Diversity and Equity, as well as two new faculty – one from the Art Department and the other from the Urban and Regional Planning Department – who will join Critical Inquiry into Values, Imagination and Culture (CIVIC), which is part of the Provost’s Office’s Radical Collaborative Initiative.

“We are thrilled to welcome an extraordinary group of new faculty and fellows whose critical scholarship and creative practices, rigorous research and lines of inquiry advance equity and justice in our disciplines,” said the Dean. of AAP, J. Meejin Yoon, in a statement. “As practitioners and educators, the work they do in and out of the classroom produces actionable knowledge and meaningful impact that has the potential to transform our cities, communities and built environments, now and in the future. ‘coming.”

The new faculty members are:

AAP Associate Dean for Diversity and Equity:

Jen Delos Reyes | Associate Professor, Art

Social Justice Cohort:

Pierre Robinson | Assistant Professor, Architecture

Ife Vanable | Assistant Professor, Architecture

Oscar Rene Cornejo | Assistant Professor, Art

Oasa du Verney | Assistant Professor, Art

Jocelyn Poe | Provost New Faculty Fellow, Urban and Regional Planning


Keith Obadike | Professor, Arts

Wen Fei Xu | Assistant Professor, Urban and Regional Planning

Although the appointments have just been announced by Cornell AAP now, the new hires officially joined their respective departments earlier this summer. Poe, as a Provost New Faculty Fellow, will begin her appointment as an assistant professor in the Department of Urban and Regional Planning in 2024.

In addition to its new faculty members, Cornell AAP also announced its first Strauch Fellows. According to the school, the Strauch Fellowship was created to “advance inclusion, equity, and justice in architecture and planning by providing pathways to successful academic careers for emerging and influential scholars and practitioners in these disciplines. The scholarship recipients are: Sydney Maubert (Strauch Fellow, Architecture) and Zakhary Mallett (Strauch Fellow, Urban and Regional Planning).

Earlier this summer, Ithaca University in New York, the only Ivy League with an architecture department offering bachelor’s degrees in architecture, revealed it had received a donation from $30 million to create a new department, the Paul Rubacha Department of Real Estate, which will be jointly operated by Cornell AAP and Cornell SC Johnson School of Business.

Learn more about Cornell AAP’s new faculty and Strauch Scholars here.

Elna M. Lemons